* The Mid-Victorian Royal Navy * William Loney R.N. * Fun * * Search this site * 
William Loney RN - Background  


British Consuls and Consuls-General at Zanzibar

1840-1857Atkins Hamerton
1858-1860Christopher Palmer Rigby
1861-1862Lewis Pelly
1862-1865Robert Lambert Playfair
1865-1870Henry Adrian Churchill
1870-1873John Kirk
1873-1886John Kerk
1887-1888Claude Maxwell Macdonald
1888-1891Charles Bean Euan Smith
1891-1893Gerald Portal
1893-1894James Rennell Rodd
1894-1900Arthur Henry Hardinge
1900-1904Charles Norton Edgecumbe Eliot
1904-1909Basil Shillito Cave
1909-1913Edward Clarke

In 1891 a British protectorate was established under a Consul-General subject to the Foreign Office. In 1913 the Colonial Office assumed control, although the form of the protectorate remained, and a Resident was appointed. In 1963 Zanzibar became independent, and in 1964 it joined neighbouring Tanganyika to form Tanzania.

Source: Henige

Valid HTML 4.0